Getting started with MQTT connection to Cayenne

I am new to Cayenne, but have some experience building my own sensor network within my home that communicates with the cloud via MQTT.

In looking to get my feet wet with Cayenne, I have tried to test out the Dashboard by connecting to it via MQTT and posting some made-up data. From - Cayenne I click “Bring your own Thing” and then get a screen that provides my MQTT username, password, client ID, server address and port.

Transferring these to my desktop MQTT client, I can easily log into Cayenne’s MQTT broker with my Cayenne username and password. My understanding is that once I am connected to Cayenne’s MQTT broker, my Dashboard page should turn into an actual dashboard – instead I am stuck at - Cayenne with a “Waiting for board to connect” message.

Posting actual test data using the topic format outlined at Cayenne Features - Developer | myDevices.com doesn’t seem to help either. Still can’t get to an actual dashboard, still seeing “Waiting for board to connect”.

What am I doing wrong?

Hi @jwosnick,

Welcome to the Cayenne community! Your understanding is correct, once your desktop mqtt client connects to Cayenne, your dashboard should appear. Is there a way to verify if your desktop is actually publishing to Cayenne or not?

~B

A couple things to check:

Are you using mqttfx? The generated username/password/client ID are longer than what the standard allows so other programs may possibly have an issue with it. I know mqttfx works.

Try a copy/paste of the username/password if you didn’t already. It’s long and easy to make a typo.

The username/password to connect with mqtt is not your cayenne username/password. The mqtt login info will be displayed on the page you see after creating the device and can also be viewed on the settings page for the device.

After you connect with the username/password you dashboard will instantly change, you don’t have to send any data for that to happen.