Hydroponics project with Rpi PH EC and the works (In progress)

Updated 03-02-2018!

About This Project

I am going to try to make a hydroponics project with Cayenne. I mainly liked not having to do the web based and some of the logging features. However I am not sure how well I will be able to maintain the PH and EC levels with the triggers setup the way they are. I may have to have some pieces that are coded in the device driver so I can have more control maintaining the water parameters. We will see it is my first project in cayenne.

I got the EC board and probe setup now. Lately been busy changing plans a bit ended up making an intelligent doser with a pro micro board.So took a while to write the code for that. Also, I have to do a lot of smart averaging to get the sonar to work reasonably well on the Rpi. So I was working on a ATiny trinket board to be a I2C sonar backpack. I ended up having a lot of trouble with it due to not knowing about the PI I2C bug where it doesn’t clock stretch right. I also had problems with the I2C library for the slave. I also ended up slowing down the bus on the Rpi and so far that is working with my test code. I just need to either setup the sonar/trinket with a level shifter or wait a long time till I get my 3.3V sonar module in from china. lol

What’s Connected

Triggers & Alerts

I will attempt to use what I can but some things maybe not so much…

Scheduling

Not sure yet maybe for recycling the tank water.

Dashboard Screenshots

What I got so far…

Photos of the Project

4 channel Doser

Rpi core setup

Video

TBD

4 Likes

Nice! Excited to see your continued progress. :slight_smile:

Bump… Updated some of my progress.

2 Likes