jIoT - home automatization

About “jIoT” Project

Hello everyone, let me in a short description present my own approach to home automatization - jIoT. TLDR - I’m using Cayenne MQTT API to bring in my own device (literaly) and even aproaches. The “BIG” idea of the project is that not only “physical” device can be connected, but also programs/PCs etc can be connected to jIoT. Basically whole logic of the program is moved to local RPI and Cayenne web is (ab)used just as a presentation layer.

Motivation

I’ve been working on similar IoT project by my own for a couple of months. Even everythink works just fine my project suffers by simple “web application” implementation. When I saw Cayenne with open MQTT API I have got an idea to connect my previous (kinda modified) project with Cayenne. That’s ultimate reason why the whole project is little bit different.

I’ll skip some template topic

I hope you won’t be too upset when I skip some topics from the template and add some new chapters. I believe that they will better reflect the whole project.

Pros and Cons

As I found (as many of you) Cayenne interface for triggers and alerts amazingly easy to use, I believe there are some Cons which I tried to enhance. For me there are primary 2 cons which I tried to eliminate:

• Cloud location - even it might look like an advantage, I believe it is not. The fact that all the “logic” is performed in a cloud adds latency, which might not be good for some “If - Than” actions which needs to be performed as quick as possible i.e. “If motion - turn on light”. With bad latency, you might be out of the dark room, before the lights turned on. In addition all this actions/triggers are strongly depended on your Internet connection (even you don’t believe it there is no such way as 100% uptime)
  • Limited possibility - “IF - THAN” period. For now there is no possibility to improve this behaviour. I’ve seen lot of feature request which calls for the improvment of this option.