10 kΩ thermistor - how do I display temperature?

I am new to Cayenne and am using a tektelic industrial transceiver with Lora. I have hooked up a 10kΩ thermistor to the transceiver the readings I get are in the 3.xxx to 4.xxx range and are inverse to the actual temperature. How can I set up cayenne to translate these values to temperatures in degrees C and display the temperature in a widget?

Thermistors are variable resistors that change their resistance with temperature. They are classified by the way their resistance responds to temperature changes.
The Arduino will measure the voltage at a point between the thermistor and a known resistor. This is known as a voltage divider. The equation for a voltage divider is:

Vout = Vin (R2/(R1+R2))

Not knowing about the Arduino specifically and following from shramik_salgaonkar, the voltage applied the resistor chain should be the same as the vref of the ADC. This way the measured voltage will be ratio-metric, ie if the applied voltage (vref) changes then the voltage will change by the same ratio and the adc reading will stay the same.

From Vout = Vin (R2/(R1+R2))

R2 = Vo R1/(Vin-Vout) given that R2 is the thermistor.

Also R1 is best to be the same value as R2 at the most useful temperature ie if reading a fridge the choose R1 to be the same the thermistor at say +5Deg C.

There are two ways of converting this resistance to temperature,

1. is to use the Steinhart-Hart equations using the parameters of the thermistor you have used (info on the web)
  2. use a lookup table generated from the data for the thermistor for the Arduino to convert the resistance to a temperature.

HTH
Andy

it is voltage resistor configuration, so there is change in voltage on change in varying resistance.
the arduino does not have the ability to measure the resistance and i dont know why you want to measure it.