ESP-12S & Arduino Mega - only one of each can work

Hello Everyone,

I’m struggling with connecting my ESP-12S & Arduino Mega to Cayenne. Being complete beginner in Arduino I made a progress with many youtube movies and spending days on forums. It brought me to the point where ESP can connect to my WiFi and I’m able to connect Arduino via USB connection to Cayenne. What I cannot do is to connect Arduino to Cayenne via ESP.

I’m using this wiring: https://cdn.instructables.com/F3W/ON46/IYKG2WG9/F3WON46IYKG2WG9.MEDIUM.jpg?width=614

When I have connection between RST and GROUND on Arduino (green wire on diagram) I’m able to connect to WiFi with ESP but not being able to upload Cayenne code for Arduino Mega with WiFi Shield. ArduinoIDE is showing:

avrdude: stk500v2_ReceiveMessage(): timeout
avrdude: stk500v2_getsync(): timeout communicating with programmer
An error occurred while uploading the sketch

When I take out this connection, I’m able to upload the code but in Serial Monitor see info that “[14] WiFi shield not present”. Managed with success to connect Arduino via USB to Cayenne but this WiFi connection irritates me.

Is someone seeing where I’m making mistakes?

(I don’t have a ESP-12) [quote=“mateuszwesierski, post:1, topic:2777”]
When I take out this connection, I’m able to upload the code but in Serial Monitor see info that “[14] WiFi shield not present”. Managed with success to connect Arduino via USB to Cayenne but this WiFi connection irritates me.
[/quote]
Did you tried to reconnect the shield after uploading the code?

Thanks Neoxelox for respond!

I just wanted to make an update. Almost all yesterday I’ve spend on forums and testing different solutions. I’ve understood very important thing - Cayenne & WiFi Shield code is not compatible with ESP8266 :unamused: Lost some nerve on that but it was some step forward. Now I’m using the code found WifiShield with arduino uno compiling error - #11 by kreggly