There's a need for a relay button that returns to the original position after a chosen time limit

I need a button for my relay that would switch back to the original position after a brief period once I activated the relay.

I only need a momentary pulse to open my garage door and gate.

Please help. My project is stranded. I’m not a developer so I cant write my own code.

Johann

Hello Sir,
Welcome to the Cayenne Community! :slight_smile:
I recommend to read this part of the documentation → Cayenne Docs
What kind of platform do you use ? :slight_smile:
You can set up a relay module, send a command from the dashboard to turn it on. After that you can set a delay function and then turn it of. After that you can try to update the state in the dashboard. I have not try this, but if you can try and start from somewhere, here in the community we can help you.

I can also try this but in the Weekend.

1 Like

Hi @jnj
I solved this problem by setting up a trigger turns off the relay immediately after it has been activated, give it a try.

Very good. Is it able to deliver the pulse that you need for the garage door ?

I will try on Monday. Thank!

Hallo Sir

I have could not figure out how the virtual pins work. Can you maybe help me?

Johann Joubert

Where are you stuck? Are you needing a momentary button and trying to do it with virtual writes?

I tried the trigger to shut the relay down as soon as it is activated but same times it takes a split second to long and the door will close again without opening completely

are you using MQTT or regular cayenne? Can you post your code?

I only use Cayenne programme and my Pi. I dont have any special code.
I am a beginner and have no experience in coding. I need a button in Cayenne on my dashboard with a timer on that will return to the open position after a set period in the close position.