Cayenne with Pi and Sainsmart 8channel relay

First off…total Cayenne noob here. Please excuse any stupidity on my part.
I have added a couple of “relay” widgets but the problem I am having is on a reboot of my Pi when Cayenne starts up it turns all relays to on. Yes…this is an active LOW relay board. Adding the relay “inverted” just flops when the icon is litup but doesn’t change the underlying relay setting.

I have tried setting the gpio state in /etc/rc.local but it seems that it isn’t an initial state thing…it is a Cayenne thing. Should there be 2 options for relays? Active Hi and Active Low? Or…a way to set initial state?

not all GPIO pulled Low, there are some which are pulled also. you can try this approach RPi GPIO High at boot time and keep high when booted and we will take into consideration the 2 option for relay.

OK…here is what I have now. I am using the following GPIO pins 2,3,5,6 (high) and 17,18,22,23 (low) according to that document you mentioned.

I have tried adding raspi-gpio set 17 op dh for all of the 8 gpio pins to /etc/rc.local as mentioned. (/etc/rc.local has 755 perms).

When Cayenne starts up…all relays turn “on” aka…

Here I believe is smoking gun that this is Cayenne issue. If I remove a relay from the Cayenne config and reboot. That relay does not turn on after reboot…but all others do. I removed relay 4 first (gpio 18) and rebooted. All relays turned on except R4 (still connected). I then removed relay 1 (gpio 6) and rebooted. All relays EXCEPT 1/4 are on.

@jiohman we are working on trying to find a solution for the same. till then you can try this approach arduino - Why is designed active low? - Electrical Engineering Stack Exchange or add an invester circuit for yout GPIO output.

the way I have solved it is by doing the following

I created a script with the name gpioset.sh

this file contains the following info

#!/bin/sh
gpio -g mode 22 out
gpio -g write 22 1
gpio -g mode 12 out
gpio -g write 12 1