Controlling cheap 433MHz Switch units with Wemos D1 and Cayenne

About This Project

(MQTT code included at the bottom of this article)

My goal was to build a simple programmable unit to control standard 433MHz switch units. Want to use that to control the lights in our house if we’re not at home. I am not a programmer and used some Turbo Pascal back in the 80’s in Electronics school. Hooking up an Arduino to a real time clock and copy/pasting code is no problem but writing code to compare times and dates is way to complicated for me at this moment. Then I discovered Cayenne! On Thursday I received my Wemos D1 and after a few hours of playing around the first version is working.

Getting the 433MHz transmitter to work from the Arduino/Wemos D1.
I used the following resource to get it to work and used a 433Mhz receiver to discover the code that the manual remote control unit was transmitting. Elro – Arduino, ESP8266, ESP32 & Raspberry Pi stuff

Figuring out the @#%# Pin mapping of the Wemos D1.
Having played around with the Arduino I was somewhat confused by the Wemos D1 pin mapping.
Check the following page for more information: Arduino/pins_arduino.h at master · esp8266/Arduino · GitHub

For this project I used the Wemos D1 pins labelled D9 (=2 in my sketch) and D3 (=5 in my sketch). Took me some time to figure that out.

What’s Connected

Wemos D1 V2 (includes Wifi, supports most Arduino code but has a weird pin mapping)
433Mhz transmitter
Elro 220V switch unit

Img 0 : These are the 433Mhz transmitter and receiver I use.

Img: this is basically all it takes, the D1 and the 433Mhz transmitter

Triggers & Alerts

I am not using triggers or alerts (yet)

Scheduling

Scheduling is one of the two main functionalities. I have built the controller for 1 channel but can easily add multiple channels by copy/pasting code. One channel can control multiple switch units in parallel.

Dashboard Screenshots