How to add 2 state display widget?

I am new to Cayenne so please forgive my ignorance. I have googled much and cant find a good tutorial on the display widget.

With my project I want to read a pin (Wemos D1 mini) and know remotely its state.

In my arduino code I have set it as an input and set it low to begin.

Do I need to use the CAYENNE_OUT() command?

All I have been able to successfully do so far is control assorted LED’s using the CAYENNE_IN() command line.

I would also appreciate links to good beginner CAYENNE tutorials. Have not found many good ones.

And, is there a good CAYENNE library cheat sheet?

Thanks!

Are you looking Maybe for Button State ? Then have a Look on My Projekt.
WeMos D1 Fan Control. I read the GPIO of the Fan And Send the state to Cayenne.

You dont need any commands to read pin state, just add new 2 state widget in dashboard to point to digital pin you want to have your eyes on :slight_smile:

Thanks Sven. Yes, I want a read button like your Lüfter button. Have quickly looked at your code but need to spend some more time on it.

But, in trying to add the widget it asks for a channel. What channel do I use If one is not asigned in the code?

Many thanks!

No need for code for monitoring pin state only thing you need is Cayenne.run(); in the loop section.
Since you will be monitoring Digital pin, select desired Digital pin in dropdown (NOT Virtual) in second drop select pin you want to monitor and thats it.
You will see 2 state monitor added to dashboard.

1 Like

@tett is usinng MQTT connection so he has to add code to show value of two state widget.

void loop() {
  Cayenne.loop();

//Publish data every 10 seconds (10000 milliseconds). Change this value to publish at a different interval.
  if (millis() - lastMillis > 10000) {
    lastMillis = millis();
      x = digitalRead(4);
      Cayenne.virtualWrite(1, x, "digital_sensor", "d");
  }
}

this will automatically create a two state widget on your dashboard.

1 Like