How to get current status of an Arduino pin used by Cayenne?

Hello, I’m new to Cayenne so forgive me if my questions is too basic.
I’m playing with Cayenne and re-did a home control project that took me a few months in a day so I am very impressed and happy with what I saw so far.

Here is my small problem:
I defined output pins on Cayenne to control some relays and some external X10 devices.
I have a buzzer on my arduino and want it to beep briefly on a switch change. For the X10 devices, I am using Virtual Channels so I have a place to add code to detect the change and beep but for the digital pins defined in Cayenne’s interface on the web I have no visible code to detect that a switch was changed and beep, so my question is how to I figure out on the arduino that the switch status changed from the web so I could beep? I thought of using triggers on Cayenne but I wanted to know if I could easily detect the changes in the arduino code itself. Is there a call I can make to know which switch was changed like in a virtual pin?
Thanks in advance.

There are many ways to do it, some are hardware specific.

You can make calls using digitalRead(PIN) to get the current state and compare it to an old state to show it changes, then set the buzzer, and use the time library’s after() function to turn it off after a bit. This requires periodic polling however.

Some Arduinos are AVRs and have hardware ‘interrupt on change’. Thus you can define an ISR function to run when any of your hardware I/O changes state.

See Arduino Playground - PinChangeInterrupt

Cheers,

Craig

1 Like