First time trying cayenne, but no luck so far... no readings displaying

Hey everyone, very new to all of this and already stuck right out of the gate… just trying to add a simple sensor and get it working on the dashboard, but no luck. I’m using an arduino mega with 5100 ethernet shield and I’ve tried adding a ds18b20 and a photo resistor, but neither seem to send any data to the widgets… I’ve read and watched every doc and video I can find and it looks like it should be so simple!

I’ve never used the 5100 ethernet shield before, but it appears to be connecting ok as it displays

[26913] Connecting to arduino.mydevices.com:8442
[27513] Ready (ping: 399ms).

in my serial monitor and appears to be online from the dashboard, just not getting any data. I verified my token is correct…

For the photoresistor my signal goes to A0… I don’t see anywhere in the code i pasted into the IDE where it references the pin… assuming that’s on cayenne’s end somewhere and executed via the Cayenne.run() statement? or am i supposed to put in additional code to the code generated by Cayenne?

any suggestions would be very much appreciated!

Thanks,
Joe

Update: so i figured out that if I add the photoresistor as a generic analog widget it will display the values from the photoresistor… I don’t understand why when i tried to add it the first time by selecting it from the list of sensors it doesn’t work, but as a generic analog device, it does…?

Maybe i don’t understand how the virtual pins are supposed to work… in the TMP36 example they include the cayenne temp library, define the virtual pin and set the variables for the analog pin and sensor… in the code i got from the program and was told to paste into my sketch, none of these details were present and I wasn’t sure if I was supposed to add any additional code… pretty sure i read somewhere that I wasn’t…?