Arduino Online/Offline Override

Hi there everyone! I am not really good with codes and Cayenne helped me a lot by simplifying it with the online dashboard (GREAT JOB GUYS!!!).

Info: Arduino mega, Ethernet Shield 5100, Jarduino Aquarium Controller (free software)

My project is an upgrade to an existing aquarium controller (Jarduino). I am planning to have a way to override the controller online if I need to. I think I can explain it more like this

if my device is “online” and override toggle is “on”
then, do these online istructions
else
do local instructions

Does that make sense? Like I said, I am bad with coding…
I just want it to continually check if it is online and if override is on. If not, then just do what it usually do.

The actual aquarium controller is pre-programmed (I just downloaded it from the net.) I am planning to just filter its output with another arduino mega using cayenne to override its signals (if needed) before they go to the breakout board.

Any help is much much appreciated!

Note; I am baaaad with programming so less coding is… well, more doable for me. Thanks everyone!

1 Like

The if online do Cayenne else do local is a good idea. The next time I have some time to code I’ll take a look to see if I can get something working for you.

1 Like

That would be totally awesome!!! I am trying to tinker here as well but i know you guys are going to beat me to it (no matter how hard I try), hahahahah! Coding is just not my field…

i feel your pain…

1 Like

Hi, is there such a “status” or a “flag” that I can detect to inform me if i am online or not? (quoted words cause I am not sure if they are called like that, hahaha). Something that would tell me my device is not connected so i can wrap my whole local commands in a huge “if” statement?

CAYENNE_CONNECTED() & CAYENNE_DISCONNECTED()

Although you need to go and make some changes in the background Blynk libraries to get the disconnected one working as its been commented out.