Doubt - Events Offline

Hi Community,

Greetings to all from Honduras,
I am new to this wonderful world of Cayenne and I am testing for an important project.

I would like you to help me understand:
What happens to a scheduled event, if the connection is lost or dropped?

That is to say: let’s make it more practical.
What happens if I schedule an Event, that a relay activates for me to open or close an electrovalve?

But it turns out that at the moment that the Event should be activated the connection between Arduino and Cayenne is lost or disconnected.

What happens with that Event that was scheduled?
What happens when the connection is resumed, if the Event execution time has passed?

William,

When there is no internet connection during the event time, it won’t run.
You can try sending the state back of the actuator to check if the action you added in event is same.

Hi Shramik,

thanks for your response,

I do not understand what you mean by the state, I messed up a bit. XD

Could you be more clear, explaining what you suggest?

I am worried that the moment when the event should be triggered, the actuator will not work and then I should wait for the next event, which in the best case would be until the next day, if I leave it 1 event per day.

I do not know if I explain myself.
I remain attentive to your kind help.

What I mean is:
Suppose you schedule to button to turn ON. So the state of the button should be ON which you can send to the dashboard indicating you whether the button is ON/off
You can then turn it ON manually.
This is just an workaround you can adapt so that whenever the event is failed due to internet issue you can turn it ON manually.

1 Like

Hi Shramik,

Thanks for your help,
I understand, I was looking for a more precise way of making the event as it would take into consideration that the actuator must be activated having connection or after a disconnection of communication between Arduino and Cayenne.