Raspberry Pi Zero installation

Hi,

I am a newbie to the community and I need some help. So far I have installed Cayenne on RPi 2 and RPi3 with some relays and it works perfect, I am so glad I found you Cayenne :grin:

My plan is to install Cayenne on RPi Zero which will host a PIR sensor and couple of other sensors, however, I am just getting stuck installing Cayenne on to RPi Zero, out of couple of attempts it installed once, that too after a restart it wouldn’t recognise the sensor anymore, and the other times, even after an hour or more of waiting the installation wouldn’t complete.

I tried with Raspbian Jessie lite and Raspbian Jessie , and made sure RPi is connected to the internet.

Please help!

Cheers
Soubs

@ian has a project running on a zero. Are you having any similar problems?

Hi @soubir,

Have you been able to install Cayenne on a regular Raspberry Pi 2 or 3 with a Jessie image?

Cheers,

Craig

Hi @kreggly ,

Yes , i have been able to install the same image on RPi3 and RPi2 and its working great.

Thanks
S

Ok, then I think you should try generating a new install script instead of re-using the old one, then take a look at this:

Cheers,

Craig

1 Like

Hi @kreggly,

I tried the instructions mentioned on a fresh Jessie install after apt-get update and apt-get upgrade, did hit the enter multiple times as mentioned still nothing. I tried to install using SSH and using mobile but still the installation wouldn’t complete. Below is what I saw on ssh.

Thanks
S

@rob, have you seen this output before?

I’ve seen that error plenty, though I don’t recall if it was ever in the context of a Pi Zero. Likely doesn’t matter.

Generally this is resolved for most users by running these 5 commands (and answering yes to any prompts you get):

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade
sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
sudo apt-get install python3.4
sudo apt-get -f install

I knew you’d have the answer! Rock stars everywhere :stuck_out_tongue:

Cheers,

Craig

1 Like