Slice of radio

Hello, anyone using a slice of radio (xrf ciseco radio module) connected to GPIO to receive inputs from wireless sensors such as in PrivateEyePi projects?

I am not able to understand how to configure GPIO in cayenne dashboard to receive data from the sensors. Any help?

Hi @asher.cohen ,

Welcome to the Cayenne community! I’ll admit I’ve no experience with slice of radio…what kind of input are you trying to send?

Also, I’m moving this topic to the Need help with my project category :slight_smile:
-B

It’s just an I/O from a pir sensor connected to a ciseco module that sends llap messages to the slice of radio attached to the gpio port of the raspberry pi to detect motion…any experience with privateeyepi and their diy projects?
Hey provide python apps that read data from the sensors and send them to their dashboard server. I wanted to avoid their server by using cayenne as my dashboard so I could trigger events and motion detections.

One question is if the serial UART has to be switched on in the settings or not?because I had to disable it to make the python apps work.

PS. Thanks for redirecting my topicm
Many thanks

So a friend that already worked with this system is providing help soon on this topic (twitter @tylerwp) . I would like to ask him if he is using the same exact configuration as in PrivateEyePi.

Hey sorry for the late reply, busy week! I am using PrivateEyePi and Cayenne.
My setup is fairly simple tho, I just have door sensors running to the Pi and I have both PrivateEyePi and Cayenne monitoring the GPIOs independently. The only other thing I have done it set PrivateEyePi’s alarm to trigger another GPIO that Cayenne is monitoring to log and trigger Cayenne events.

Is the PrivateEyePi app not responding to events from your SOR?
One of the problems I had with PrivateEyePi is the app would sometimes need to be restarted.